Antec 450W PSU running too hot?

Discussion in 'Power Supplies and UPS's' started by goldmemberer, Jun 4, 2006.

1. goldmemberer

goldmemberer Geek Trainee

Hey guys... total newb here (compared to you guys). Just looking for ideas on what could cause a PSU to run hot... I've checked the fans and everything is spinning up/down fine. It's an Antec SmartPower 2.0 450W PSU that came with a Antec Sonata II case; everyone said very good things about the PSU in reviews and stuff, but while OCing my Pentium D 805, I was running CPU Burn-In @ 3.6GHz on semi-quiet air cooling, and the CPU topped out at 66 degrees celsius, but the PSU jumped all the way to 84 degrees (!) -- scared the :swear: outta me.

I know that the overclocked 805 is quite the power hog but I have only 1 HDD, 1 DVD drive, and a 7600 GT sucking power from the thing... it seems kinda weird.

Thanks a lot for any and all help/comments. If anyone's interested, I'll be happy to post my rig details.

2. Addis

Addis The King

As well as the power draw thats coming from the system its also surrounded by all the heat from the overclocked components. If your system seems stable I wouldn't worry about it.

I also wouldn't recommend overclocking that far.

3. donkey42

donkey42 plank

its a bloody wonder you havn't fried your CPU cos CPU temp should never go above 60, it would have scared the :swear: outta me too overclocking fine but i think you think you've got a Gallatin

EDIT::swear: hot PSU

4. Big B

Big B HWF Godfather

I'd probably invest in some better CPU cooling. 60*C or higher is considered dangerous for CPU's, especially if that's at idle.

5. goldmemberer

Ah, it ran 66 degrees during the stress test and between 49-52 at idle, so I'm not worried too much about it. Keep in mind that the 805 runs kinda hot in stock form... at 2.66GHz, it idles around 44-45 with the stock cooler and voltages Check out the temps the pros got:
    A 4.1 GHz Dual Core at $130 - Can it be True? | Tom's Hardware