Asus A8V Deluxe AMD 64 4000+ (1st time OC'ing)

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Marcus_X, May 31, 2006.

1. Marcus_X

Marcus_X Expert N00b

I need some advice with overclocking, I used the "How To Overclock - An Ongoing Tutorial" topic from this site as a guide. This is my first time overclocking my CPU manually. I had it at 10% before using the Auto OC feature of this mobo. But that only got me around 2640 Mhz before, I would like to get some more out of my CPU

Here's what I've done so far;

I managed to get my CPU running at 2760 Mhz, that's with a 12 x CPU multiplier, and a FSB of 230. When using Prime95's torture test it reads 42 degrees under load. Vcore is at 1.575 volt now.

My memory timings set are as indicated by the above guide at 3-4-4-8 2T, but I read a lot of users having better timings, that's because of better RAM right? Memory divider is set at 2:1

I have installed 4 sticks of PC3200 memory total; 2 Kinston ValeuRAM sticks with timings 3-3-3-8 for 200Mhz according to CPU-Z, and 2 TwinMOS sticks with timings 2.5-3-3-8 for 200Mhz according to CPU-Z.

Now for the questions, I have a two;

Prime95's torture test reported 1 error after running for 44 minutes and stopping, before I increased the Vcore voltage Prime95 would crash after 1~10 minutes. Am I at a halt here? Should I decrease the CPU FSB to maintain stability or increase the Vcore voltage to 1.6? I believe someone on these boards commenting another user that 1.6 would be too high for Vcore so I didn't go that far yet.

Furthermore, the guide I read said something about adjusting the RAM speed. I can't seem to find the option to increase the memory FSB on this board. Am I blind, is it hidden somewhere where I can't see, or isn't it possible to adjust memory speed on this board.

I haven't read anybody using 2 brands of memory before when oc'ing, does that mean I shouldn't be doing so? Identical brands and types only?