Barton 2500+ (computer slowdown)

Discussion in 'Power Supplies and UPS's' started by Ferg, May 21, 2004.

1. Ferg

Ferg Manbearpig

Hi there, bit of a newbie here (well to the forums anyway). heregoes

I’ve recently changed my old Athlon Xp 2000+ (which I was having no problems with) for a Barton 2500+. When I changed them over I also had to take out one of my memory sticks (in order to build a spare comp) but this still left me with 512 of pc2700 (crucial). The problem is, whenever I’m doing anything requiring a bit of power the mouse jumps and stalls. It’s really annoying! The strange thing is it doesn’t happen in games. It really happens the most when I’m running Vmware4 for suse 8.2. Switching between windows and vmware really gets its back up, and when looking through folders of divx movies is bad aswell. I have oc’d a little, but this still happens when running at standard speed. (all ive done is increase the mult to 12 and upped the vcore to 1.5 instead of recommended 1.4 – 1.45 to give me a 2ghz proc + its never crashed)

Anyone think why this could be happening? I keep an eye on the processes and performance but there is no huge drain (although i sometimes catch explorer chugging away with 98% processor usage, so i just kill it and start it fresh + i've just done a fresh install)

Sys spec:
    Amd 'barton' 2500+ oc'd to 2GHz (temp never above 43)
    Epox 8RGA+ mobo (latest nforce drivers installed)
    Pixelview FX5200 (latest forceware drivers installed)
    512mb crucial pc2700
    Plextor DVD RW
    WD 160 gb 7200rpm 8mb
    Chieftec server case (5 case fans, neon etc)
    want a razor boomslang (contact me if you want to sell one second hand!! lol)
    XP pro sp1

2. Big B

Big B HWF Godfather

What power supply do you have? If you have some generic unit, then that could easily be an issue. A solid brand power supply of say 350W is better than some generic POS unit that might have 500W.

3. Ferg

Ferg Manbearpig