Building some sort of hardware chip

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mattireland, Apr 29, 2008.

1. mattireland

mattireland Geek Trainee

Hi,

I'm new on these forums so hi! I'm just a student but I'm really passionate about computers and enjoy building 'em, programming (C++, VB.NET), web design, networking and just about everything else to do with them as well.

Please tell me if this is totally unrealistic, but I was looking to try and build some sort of chip from scratch. I know I won't be able to create anything like what's in my computer because I don't have the right conditions in my house or the equipment to build them with but if I was able to build something from scratch it would be really cool. I once saw this guy who assembled stuff like that in his garage. I'm not really bothered about size, in fact the bigger the better. I've got a budget of around £50 (sort of around $100ish).

Upon googling, all I got was results about how to modify a phone e.t.c. and nothing that really helped. If you could recommend a book or a site or something which would get me started - I don't want to be guided all the way through or that would take the fun away - I'd be really, really grateful!

Thanks very, very much,

Matt. Ireland

2. Pimp

Pimp Captain of USS Defiant

Wow that would be the first time I've heard someone wanting to build their own chip, just curious to know if it is actually possible?? I personally am a bit skeptical and don't take this the wrong way but i don't think you will be able to achieve it, especially with £50, you would probably need a bigger budget. Anyways if you do achieve something or get more info can you please post it on the forums to keep us up to date with your adventure :p .

well at least your going to be busy this summer :)

3. Addis

Addis The King

You seem to be unsure of what you want, so there is no chance of you building anything unless you have something in mind.