Chat Rooms...Reallllly!

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Egaladeist, Oct 13, 2004.

1. Egaladeist

Egaladeist I am the Eg Man

I'm new to the net...in fact, I'm new to comps too...so...even though up to now I've been doing pretty good...I still need alot of help...so...I figure a good place to get help would be a chat room...right!...wrong!!!!...I spent hours over several days looking for a chat room that wasn't a friggin dating service and all I could find was an aussie teeny-bopper site that i couldn't make heads or tails of...I've come to the conclusion that real chat rooms don't exist for people over 30 who just want to talk...so I'm checking out what seems to be the next best thing...and we'll see how it goes...no offense intended...but I'd rather have that immediate talk and answer than having to post a message and wait to see if anybody even responds to it.

Hello...john, sally, susan, peter, jennifer, ralph, or karen...whoever you may be who responds to this message

2. Big B

Big B HWF Godfather

Never done the chat thing, myself. It's easier to respond in a forum setting, at least for me.

3. Anti-Trend

Anti-Trend Nonconformist Geek

Yeah, forums are more calm & collected, as opposed to chat rooms. In forums, you're more likely to get a reply which makes sense, where in a chat room... "A/S/L? my nam3s jonnny and im13 buti wannaa scyber witt yoooo!"

P.S. - Your screenname, Egaladeist, what exactly does it mean? I understand the "Deist" part, meaning some sort of reflection on God, but the prefix?

4. Addis

Addis The King

Chat rooms are a load of crap. Not so much IM, but chat rooms you don't know the people and a lot goes on. Not everyone wants to help.

5. Egaladeist