Kubuntu problems

Discussion in 'Linux, BSD and Other OS's' started by RHochstenbach, Dec 6, 2007.

1. RHochstenbach

RHochstenbach Administrator

After many problems, I decided to give Linux a new chance. So I downloaded the DVD of Kubuntu Gutsy (7.10).

It didn't detect the correct screen settings, even after installing the nvidia driver (the nvidia glx new driver). So I manually changed the type of screen. I got a Samsung Syncmaster 223BW. It wasn't listed, so I chose the 225 BW. After pressing Apply, the screen suddenly reported that there is no signal (I chose Digital, as it is connected using DVI). Even after a reboot, no signal.

What I wrong here guys? And if it's because I chose the wrong screen, how can I use the correct driver? The screen (223 BW) wasn't listed there.

2. donkey42

donkey42 plank

:good:, however, Gutsy will not be officially released until next April the "real" 7.10 was Feisty, so, expect problems, personally i don't anything before it is officially released use DVD builds because they are not updated as regular as the CD's
    has Kubuntu automatically made a backup or your xorg.config, if it has, just rename the old xorg.config or don't start X and enter
    Code:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
    to reconfigure X before X starts[ot]Kubuntus Safe mode[/ot]BTW: trying to find a gutsy daily build .iso cos Feisty had one

Edit: BTW: i'm wrong, Feisty was 7.04 & Gutsy is 7.10, sorry :doh: :doh: :doh: i'm still using Feisty maybe i'll upgrade, hmm :thinking:

Edit: 8.04 will be Hardy Heron, blame Windoze, it's responsible for nearly everything else!

3. RHochstenbach

How can I get into safe mode? I can only choose between Kubuntu and Windows Vista.

4. donkey42

donkey42 plank

well if you can't access it from your boot menu, <Ctrl><Alt><backspace> after you log out
    BTW: i've edited the quote from Wikipedia

Source

5. RHochstenbach