MOBO, CPU, RAM opinions please.

Discussion in 'CPU, Motherboards and Memory' started by BAT Neo, Dec 3, 2007.

1. BAT Neo

BAT Neo Geek Trainee

Hello, my first post here and am seeking advice

What are your thoughts on the following please:

CPU & Cooler:
    Ebuyer - Cheap Computers, Laptops, Digital Cameras, TVs & more!

MOBO:
    Asus Maximus Extreme Intel X38 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR3 Motherboard

or

Asus Maximus Formula SE Intel X38 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard

Memory:
    Corsair 2GB Kit (2x1GB) DDR3 1333MHz Memory CL9(9-9-9-24) DHX Heatsink Lifetime Warranty - Ebuyer

or

Corsair 4GB Kit (4x1GB) DDR2 1066MHz/PC2-8500 XMS2 Dominator Memory With Fan - Ebuyer

I am new to DIY upgrades, recently installed:

700 PSU
    nvidia 8800 GT Graphics

Was thinking about the above to complete the upgrade. The ASUS Extreme MOBO has water cooling facility, is it advisable to use it or can i just continue with air cooling ?

AMD or Intel ? Im thinking Intel Quads as read better reviews ?

DDR2 or DDR3 ?

Gaming is my priority, thank you for your opinions and advice, much appreciated ;)

2. yorkkev28

yorkkev28 HWF Minion

The Asus maximus formula instead of the Asus maximus extreme. The Asus Maximus extreme took a bit of a beating in this months 'Custom PC' magazine motherboards review.

Personally id go with Intel, though with the new AMD chip coming out it maybe worth having a look at it.

If money is no object then go with DDR3
    If you do decide to go with the DDR2 option then it's £194.24 inc VAT at 'microdirect'

3. BAT Neo

BAT Neo Geek Trainee

But the Formula is DDR2 ?

Can you suggest an alternative to the Maximus ?

Im thinking that at some point, DDR3 will be the memory of choice, just as DDR2 overtook DDR.

What is the new AMD chip ? I know of the Phenom Chip.

Intel sits more comfortable with me though, seems to outshine AMD in every review i have read.

Your opinion is much appreciated;)

4. yorkkev28

yorkkev28 HWF Minion