more ram for laptop

Discussion in 'Mobile Technology' started by Jack858, Jun 17, 2006.

1. Jack858

Jack858 Geek Trainee

I'm very new to modding and would like to put more ram into my laptop. i currently have 512mb and want to upgrade to 1gb, is all i do insert another ram module? or is there any setup reqired?
    Thanks

2. donkey42

donkey42 plank

hi

what are the specs of the laptop ?
    make & model too ?

3. Jack858

Jack858 Geek Trainee

hi

Its a fujitsu siemens amilo d 3.06 GHz, 512mb ram, windows xp sp2, 512 mb graphics memory (ati) sorry, i have no idea of wot specs to give u!
    Thanks

4. pelvis_3

pelvis_3 HWF Member For Life

hi

Upgrading memory in laptops thses days is usually very simple.
    There should be a small slot on the underside of your laptop which unscrews revealing an empty memory bank. Most laptops do have empty memory banks availabe, but some of these require the laptop to be dismantled to do it.
    Without knowing the exact model number of your laptop, we can't advise you on what RAM to buy though.

5. donkey42

donkey42 plank

hi

yeah, we need an exact model number of your laptop

6. Addis

Addis The King

hi

If in doubt, use a little program called [google]CPU-Z[/google] and use it to find the details of your current RAM. E.g. DDR 266, 333 or 400. Also, you can use it to see if you have a spare memory bank available.

7. Jack858

Jack858 Geek Trainee

hi

ok, at the moment i have 2 banks, bith taken with 256 mb samsung modules, is made not sure if this is waht u mean (sorry) but the motherboard by uniwill model 257SAO. Please advise and thanks for the help, Jack

8. donkey42

donkey42 plank

hi

sorry but if you only have 2 SODIMM slots and their both being used by 2 256Mb modules the only upgrade option open to you is:

take out the 256Mb module and get (say a 512Mb module) and replace the 256Mb module, the other 256Mb is probably onboard (built in)

9. Jack858

Jack858 Geek Trainee

hi