Need SERIOUS help on upgrading computer parts!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Dantzeil, Mar 6, 2009.

1. Dantzeil

Dantzeil Geek Trainee

Well Im a new forumer so forgive me if I posted in the wrong section.

Is my computer still upgradeable? I bought it in late 2006.
    Its a Dell Dimension E520.

If yes, read on. If no, then ignore the rest of the thread.
    Hm yeah. My computer cant run most games like Crysis smoothly anymore.

So I've decided to upgrade it. Its my first time doing so.
    Some specs of my com. If you need more, dont hesistate to ask.

Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6300 @ 1.86GHz (2 CPUs)
    Memory: 1022MB RAM
    Video Card: Radeon X1300/X1550 Series

I've got about $480 to spend and Im from Singapore.
    So yeah, what would you recommend?
    I just want to run most games smoothly and dont wish to spend too much.
    I dont need a monster, but if its achievable with that budget, I dont mind.

The main things I hope to upgrade are
    the CPU speed
    the system RAM
    and the Video Card.

On a side note:
    Is the RAM = the computer speed? I seriously have to upgrade my com's speed. Its taking like 10mins just to power up or shut down.
    If not, then what determines the computer's speed?

And is the processor upgradeable? Its got me wondering for some time.

I hope that at least someone would give some advice.
    I posted on other forums and no one replied me. :mad:
    Please. All help is appreciated.:cool:

2. BoBBYI986

BoBBYI986 Geek

http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/dime520/en/OM_en/NH730A01.pdf

This is your pc if im not mistaken?

why don't you try overclocking your processor to around 2.3 - 2.5ghz? use a decent heatsink as well. that will save you going out buying another one.

Also upgrade your ram: your board supports ddr2 dual channel upto 667mhz.
    since you've only got 1Gb of ram, 1 module i take it, its only running in single channel configuration.