Some well thought out advice for 2.1 sound purchase.

Discussion in 'Sound Cards and Speakers' started by sciroccosven, Feb 5, 2007.

1. sciroccosven

sciroccosven Geek Trainee

Alright, I am a noob for the most part. I am going to go over my situation briefly that way if someone can add really good advice that doesnt put me over $200.00 including additional cables and sound cards cards if they have any.

My girlfriends Tivo died some time ago and we have been dealing with a dvd recorder (sucks). I have purchsed an ATI 256mb all in wonder video card for what I am going to now call the "TV Computer." This will eliminate the dvd player and I will be able to edit out commercials and play it back to the tv trhough S-video or normal video. I was originally going to purchase a cheap non-PC 5.1 stereo system. After some deliberation I decided to just go with good 2.1 speakers.

Computer is a Celeron 3.06 Ghz
    512 MB Ram
    Factory Sound Card (that might change at some point)

At this point I have made up my mind just to go with 2.1 sound running from the computer. 80% of the tv we will be watching will be recorded on the HD of this computer so I dont want to deal with running speaker cables down through the walls and floors, through the basement, back up through to the computer, and then have to spend the cash to buy the hardware to make everything tun properly (I.E. reciever, sound card, fiber optic cable, sound system, and anything else needed.)

What I am looking for is ample power combined with good sound for all ranges. I will be keeping this under $150 bucks. I would like to avoid a sound card if necessary (this computer just isnt worth upgrading in my opinion). This will not be a gaming PC but if a sound card would make for a night and day difference for everything played through a speaker then I would take it into consideration. It doesnt need to be movie theater quality but I want it to sound above average and far better than the tv speakers.