Which One?

Discussion in 'Windows OS's' started by Moobrack, Dec 15, 2001.

1. Moobrack

Moobrack Geek Trainee

I have had a new 1 ghz PC bought for xmas and dont wanna put XP on it, which ones cshould I go for
    I thought that I might go for the dual OS with
    Win 98 S E
    and
    Win 2000NT pro

Any other suggestions, and I dont fancy linux.

Which one will make my pc run at optimum speed?

2. pinki

pinki Geek Trainee

Not sure why you don't want to put XP on it. XP is the best thing to come out of Redmond since ..... well the last best thing :D

Seriously, go for XP, it's the dogz. I have been running it on a 400 Mhz laptop for 3 months and it is just so stable. As soon as I replace my scanner and printer it will be going onto my main machine.

3. Big B

Big B HWF Godfather

98/2k dual boot are good options. Stay the hell away from ME, tho. Total shit of an OS.

XP is good, but it still could use some fine tuning. Service Pack 1 should fix a lot of lingering issues.

If you're planning on a dual boot, let me offer some sound advice: Install 98 on your C: partition, and 2k on your D: partition, and install 98 first, along with all the updates, before installing 2k.

You won't hose your system installing 2k first, but you'll have to jump through a hoop or two to dual boot. This is due to the fact that 98 will over write the boot sector so you can only boot to 98, and then you have to "repair" the 2k install to fix it.

Oh, yeah, keep everything FAT32 for best results. 98 can't read NTFS, unless you shell out big bucks for a read/write utility.

4. Sniper

Sniper Administrator Staff Member

I'd go for Win XP Pro, runs perfect for me :) no need for win98 etc
    but if you want dual boot, go for Win 98 and 2k as Big B said...

5. RZA

RZA l337 CounterStriker

Is win me really that bad ??
    Im using it :(

6. Moobrack

Moobrack Geek Trainee

Advice RZA, Format and use win 98 SE, or even Win 2K NT pro.

I have chosen both 98 SE, and NT2000Pro