Wireless on Linux aint so bad

Discussion in 'Linux, BSD and Other OS's' started by megamaced, Dec 1, 2007.

1. megamaced

megamaced Geek Geek Geek!

I bought myself a wireless kit over the weekend, a cheap Dynamode Wireless router plus a Dynamode PCMCIA wireless card for a Windows 2000 laptop and a Dynamode Wireless PCI card for my openSUSE 10.3 desktop. The whole kit only cost me £50 and for the most part I've got what i've paid for! But on the whole it works!
    I set up the PCMCIA card on Windows first and got a connection using WPA. Great I thought, now it's time to tackle the Linux box (dread sinking in)! The PCI card I bought had an Marvell chipset which I discoved using lspci. After a quick look on the internet I realised I'd have to use NDISwrapper with it. No problem I thought, I'll give this a go. I've never used NDISwrapper before so this was all new to me. I installed NDISwrapper from the SUSE repositories and installed the Windows XP driver that came on the CD. I launched the YaST network card configuration utility, which had by now detected the Wireless card, and configured a few settings. I then launched NetworkManager, which found the wireless connection, I entered my WPA key and bingo, it worked! I was suprised at just how easy it was!

The only quibble I have is that I have to connect to the Wirless network manually every time I restart. The connection does not automatically connect. Does anyone know how I can configure NetworkManager to automatically connect to the Wireless network? Thanks

2. RHochstenbach

RHochstenbach Administrator

You could try to create a startup script. I can't remember the exact commands to bring up a wireless network. You could try
    Code:
    network-manager
    or use
    Code:
    ifconfig -essid "ssid"
    Anyway, put that in a text file and save it in the folder /etc/init.d/
    Then rightclick the icon and go to the tab permissions. Check Executable and click on OK. Now reboot.

3. Anti-Trend