Advice on finding a job

Discussion in 'IT Careers and Certification' started by FearisFailure, Jan 4, 2008.

1. FearisFailure

FearisFailure Geek Trainee

I live in Memphis TN and I have a 2 year degree in Computer Engineering and certifications out the wazoo such as A+, Network +, MCSE and C + but yet I can not find a job in the IT field. I was just wondering what jobs I need to be looking for or just any type of advice anyone can give me. I have applied for numerous jobs and have nothing this is getting very annoying. :confused:

2. ShellyCat

ShellyCat Geek Trainee

Have you contacted your "Career Services" (or whatever) office at your college? They help not only in interviewing skills, but also can refer you to employers who contact them. It is possible they may even have a job-listing board.

Join a professional association and/or Chamber of Commerce. The IEEE is international. My boss at an old (retail) job I had was a member of our local Chamber of Commerce to drum up business...
    ...that's maybe better than a professional group where everyone is looking for the same thing and maybe competing for the same contacts. The Chamber of Commerce will have people from all backgrounds, professions, entreprenurships (spelling?) and small businesses. You informally socialize and network once a month, which is a great way to "just bump into" someone who needs your services. There are usually some other random events, like educational seminars and so forth.

You can join "Meetup Groups" relating to any interest, no matter how specific, professional, casual, or strange, at Meetup: World's largest community of local Meetups, clubs and groups!. (Meetup.com ... wow, that auto-substitution of URL text is a feature I've never seen in a message board!) The size of group and how regularly they meet will affect your decision, especially if your purpose is career advancement.