Asus Radeon 9800XT Driver ???

Discussion in 'Video Cards, Displays and TV Tuners' started by dmj1975, Feb 11, 2004.

1. dmj1975

dmj1975 Geek Trainee

I have a Asus Radeon 9800XT and want to know what the best driver is for this card, can I use ATI's Catalyst drivers for this card, I know the Asus 9800XT has some different features from the ATI card does this mean I can only use Asus drivers ?.

I checked both their websites and the latest ATI driver is over 20mb but the Asus driver is only 7.5mb, why the big difference.

What is the best driver ? and where can I download it.

I'm new to Graphics Cards, so I apologise if this is a really poor question.

Thanks.

2. Anti-Trend

Anti-Trend Nonconformist Geek

I like Omegadrive drivers, personally. To answer your question though, the only difference between the ASUS drivers and the ATI drivers is that the ATI ones are unified drivers -- that is, they are made to provide support for every ATI card there is. ASUS's drivers are only made to cover a specific card, so they aren't as big.

3. dmj1975

dmj1975 Geek Trainee

Thanks for the advice Anti-Trend

4. Anti-Trend

Not a problem; enjoy the card. :good:

5. harrack52

harrack52 Supreme Geek

Actually I think there are more differences than that.

Let me redirect you to www.rage3d.com/board

This is a dedicated ATI forum so you WILL find a thread there that answers your question.

6. Anti-Trend