Computer Won't Shut Down (possible power supply issue)

Discussion in 'Power Supplies and UPS's' started by ryannP, Nov 12, 2012.

1. ryannP

ryannP Geek

Hello all,

I've been building my own systems since 2000, and while I've my share of problems I've usually been able to find answers online. However I have a new problem that is not only hard to diagnose with a google search, but I'm having trouble finding the time to really work on it. So I'll jump right in.

I work overseas for months at a time, and upon returning from my last trip, I found my roommate had unplugged the power chord from my power supply. He had said there was a power outage in our area and that my computer had turned on by itself and would not turn off even after holding the power button for long periods. So I plugged it in and sure enough there was some sort of malfunction with the power button. As soon as the power supply power switch is flipped on, the system powers up, but it does not boot. All the fans immediately start blowing at 100% and the monitor stays in sleep mode. Upon pressing the power switch the system boots normally and the fans go back to regular speed. The computer then works fine till I shut it down, where it goes from the regular blue windows shut down screen, back to the monitor in sleep mode and fans blowing at 100%. It stays that way till i flip the power supply switch in the back (holding the power button does not do anything).

A friend of mine suggested the temperature sensors are off somehow and the system thinks its overheating as its booting up or down. I've also been told the power supply might have a problem. I was hoping in buying the AX series power supply i was buying one of the best available and the same goes with the sabertooth p67. The system is roughly a year old. As I can actually use the computer its not a real emergency, however all these hard boots make a bit nervous about the systems longevity.