Please Help Me Upgrade My PC For Gaming!

Discussion in 'New Build / Upgrade Advice' started by Drewbyous, Dec 16, 2012.

1. Drewbyous

Drewbyous Geek Trainee

Hi everyone, i have an Asus Cm 1730-05 desktop that has been upgraded a little from stock i believe. This is my first time trying to build a better computer and i need advice on a few things. im trying play games like BF3 and Farcry3. i want to buy an AMD Radeon HD7950 GPU ( here's the link to that GPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod [...] 02006#top) but im unsure what processor would be ideal for running a GPU like that one as well as a decent power supply. i Also wanted to know if i would have any problems with my motherboard not supporting the graphics card for any reason or possibly a more powerful processor. i tried to figure out what motherboard i have but couldnt figure it out. i opened my desktop and say PCIe 2.0 X16 if that helps.

Here are my specs and i hope i gave enough info (if not just ask [​IMG] )

- Model: Asus Desktop PC Cm1730-05

-Display: Hanspree 22' LCD (http://gdgt.com/hannspree/hf229h/specs/)

-Current GPU: Nvidia Geforce GT 440

-Processor : AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1065T 2.90 GHZ

- Ram: 8GB

- PSU: Ac/Bel PC 9045-2A1g 313.9w Max

-HDD : 1 TB

- MOBO: Dont Know [​IMG] Says PCIe 2.0 x16 on it though ( i ran everest and it still cant figure out what MOBO i have)

Please help me out here, any advice would be much appreciated!

2. Jan Benedict

Jan Benedict Geek

Your desktop specification from Asus Website, if I'm right
    Since you already have a phenom x6 1065T, which is a pretty good processor already, you don't have to change processors if you're on a tight budget.
    Your options if you really want a new processors are: Getting an am3+ board and an FX processor. or go Intel i5 or i7.
    Your current processor won't have any problem running a HD 7950, although you should buy a new PSU.