Upgrade to Windows 7 question

Discussion in 'Windows OS's' started by Rinkydink, Aug 19, 2010.

1. Rinkydink

Rinkydink Geek Trainee

I have been planning to install a new HDD in my rig and then upgrade my Windows XP with Windows 7 Home upgrade. I have Windows 7 upgradefor Windows Vista. I recognize that I would have to do a clean install, but I had intended to partition the drive to two partitions, one of them being about 50 GB for the OS. I have the Windows XP and legal product key. Now I read in a forum that I can't do that, and must use the Windows 7 full license edition.
    I have everything backup and the new drive, but I am not technically knowledgeable enough to do a double-install or registry patch and even if I could I don't think that I will end up with what I want as far as the portioning goes. I hope that I have explained my problem sufficiently and I would appreciate someone helping me out with this.

2. henry222

henry222 Geek

I suspect you can't do this, since you are "jumping" the intermediate OS Vista. Remember MS wants to extract the maximum from every customer, so it may require a grey-fix to achieve.
    + I'm surprised you are happy with Win7 - my experience is that I now have to junk my printer....XP driver won't work with Win7.

Frankly, I'm looking to turn to Ubuntu when I can find a solution to printer-drivers - that's something that Linux has an BIG issue with, IMHO. -except Linux is free and updates are carried out as and when.
    My experience with MS is not happy, having been burnt with "Win95 with USB support" -that supported only a mouse! and now Win7 . . . sure I'm not exactly a "good " customer, but then I don't think MS has provided their part of the deal.
    Win7 for example will only support 4G of RAM - that's something they don't mention on the front of the packing...etc.