Upgrading Cpu-will I need a new fan?

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding and Gallery' started by Audiophreak, Mar 20, 2004.

1. Audiophreak

Audiophreak Geek Trainee

OK, so I'm a total newbie, had my pc for 6 months and haven't touched the hardware.

Now I want to upgrade some stuff. I have an Intel Pentium 4 1710 Mhz cpu and want to go to a 2400 Mhz in the same brand.

I have 252 Mb RAMM and want to add 512Mb more.

Motherboard is Asus P4B.

The question is will I need a new cooler fan?

I have some software to tell me about my hardware, Belarc and Aida32, but they don't seem to cover the cooling system. I don't really want to open up the case as I'm too inexperienced, I'll get someone to install the upgrades when I buy them. Is there any software or any other way that I can tell what kind of fan I have without taking the case apart?

2. Big B

Big B HWF Godfather

Nope. You have to look. Software can't tell what you have since it can physically look and see for you. My guess is that you've got a stock Intel heatsink. While stock heatsinks have been generally just enough to get by, the P4 stock cooler is quite good.
    If you're worried about your current CPU cooler not being enough, just get a retail P4. You can buy the P4 CPU itself, but that's all you get. The retail package costs a little more usually, but you get a heatsink/fan combo with it and a 3-year warranty.
    The P4 heatsink doesn't require any tools to install, and is really something you can do yourself very easily.

Which P4B do you have? Is it the P4B266 or P4B533? If it's one of those, you can get DDR, but if it's just the plain P4B, you've got plain SDRAM, and this is going to be a little harder to find and pricier than DDR since there is less demand for it.

3. Audiophreak

Audiophreak Geek Trainee

Thanks