MS-DOS 6.22 Application conflicting!

Discussion in 'Windows OS's' started by thomas234, Apr 15, 2008.

1. thomas234

thomas234 Big Geek

Hi y'all!

I have a PC (Celeron 2.0GHz 512mb RAM 60gb HDD). It is dual booted with MS-DOS 6.22 and XP, simply because we need some software that is really useful (and it would take too long to port all the data to a windows equivalent).

The PC currently uses a serial connection directly to another PC, but I want to get it to work with the LAN in the shop. I can get it connected to the network and view all files fine. But, the software that we need then stops working, and complains about a lack of memory, or conventional memory.

I have little experience with DOS, and after reading through the DOS 6.22 guide I cannot figure out what may be wrong. I know it's unlikely, but does anyone here have any idea what could be the problem?

Thanks, Thomas

2. donkey42

donkey42 plank

ok, MS-DOS uses 3 types of memory internaly
    • Extended memory (XMS)
    • Expanded memory (EMS)
    • Conventional memory (max = 640k)
    now if you run out of conventional memory, you need to move some TSRs (terminate & stay resident) programs or drivers to the high memory area (upper memory)

could you please attach your autoexec & config to look @ and see want we can do ?

Edit: or you can run the auto memory management tool, i can't remember it,

BTW: make sure qbasic.exe, help.com & help.hlp are located in the working directory, and type "help" for a full list of commands & their descriptions[ot]i've a headache, dragging that crap out of my head[/ot]

3. thomas234

thomas234 Big Geek

Thanks Donkey, I should have the autoexec and config.sys by tonight, providing it is emailed to me!

4. Anti-Trend

Anti-Trend Nonconformist Geek

No need to multi-boot with a hobbiest OS from the early 80's -- it's DOSBox! :)

5. thomas234

thomas234 Big Geek