Rainbow Six

Discussion in 'Video Gaming' started by talker1106, Dec 18, 2006.

1. talker1106

talker1106 Geek Trainee

I have never played a Rainbow Six game but am interested in starting. The problem is that I'm new to tactical shooters and am kind of confused with the Rainbow Six franchise. I see a lot of boxes with the name Rainbow Six 3 on them with subtitles such as Lockdown, Raven Shield, Black Arrow, etc. Which one is a good one for someone who is new to the series to start with? BTW, I am looking to play on the PC.

2. Exfoliate

Exfoliate Geek Trainee

With your rig I'd look into the newest, Rainbow Six Vegas. Seems to be getting great reviews and appears to be a wise place to start.

3. sjhaycroft

sjhaycroft Geek Trainee

I want to get Rainbow 6 vegas but it says it needs 3ghz cpu to play, will the 2.4ghz conroe core be able to handle it?

4. talker1106

talker1106 Geek Trainee

I heard that Rainbow Six Vegas is more arcade like and not as real as the other ones. I also read that the PC version is very buggy and the technical requirements are way higher than print to get a frame rate higher than ten fps. Get the 360 version if you have one, which I don't.

5. Exfoliate

Exfoliate Geek Trainee

Okay well I'm a little bias as I'm not personally into highly tactical shooters but the review on gamespot.com looked quite promising at least. And yeah a 2.4Ghz conroe would be more than enough as that's in a completely different league than the P4's which the requirements are based on.

6. Putter

Putter Geek

Essentially there's two different parts of the Rainbow 6 franchise: tactical and arcade. Rainbow 6, Rogue Spear and Ravenshield (and their respective expansions) are all tactical based shooters. Lockdown and Vegas are arcade shooters.

First: Lockdown blows; don't play it.