Where to begin on a new(bie) build

Discussion in 'New Build / Upgrade Advice' started by payso, Oct 2, 2005.

1. payso

payso Geek Trainee

Have been thinking about a new (first) build for the last couple of months as i would like to get into gaming/overclocking a bit more. My parents old pc just cannot hack anything more than writing word docs nowadays.

Below is the system i would like to build. Would really appreciate any advice about cooling, noise reduction and system component compatibility etc as i am a total newbie to system builds.

Akasa Eclipse-62 Aluminum Case

Tagan TG430-U15 430W ATX2.01 Easycon SLi Compliant Modular Silent PSU

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 90nm (Socket 939) - OEM (therefore need a good heatsink and fan - was going to go for Arctic Cooling Freezer 64??)

Asus A8N-E nForce4 Ultra (not that bothered about SLI at the mo.) Can anyone reccomend a good chipset cooler?

Sapphire ATI Radeon X800 GTO² w/arctic cooler.

Corsair 1GB DDR XMS3200XL Platinum TwinX (2x512MB) - does this need additional cooling or will the heatspreaders be enough?

Hard Drive - unsure whether to go for:

Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 Plus 200GB (IDE)

or

Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 10 NCQ 250GB 6L250S0 SATA 16MB

Unsure of the benefits of SATA??

Lite-On SOHW-1635S 16X DVD±RW Dual Layer Internal IDE

Also my bro is going to give me an old SCSI drive to run my OS off of

Any comments, advice, links to other good sites, alternative system set ups (around the £800 max mark) will be gratefully accepted.

Thanks,

2. Matt555

Matt555 iMod

Nice parts there, That PSU will do you good (i have the TG480-U01) also go with the Seagate HDD, Maxtor use bad bearings and seagate and western digital are considered the best you can buy.
    That corsair RAM is some good stuff!